enjoyskybird.blogg.se

Partition tool for mac os x
Partition tool for mac os x











partition tool for mac os x

It’s outdated and has no support for HTML 4.0, XHTML, Cascading Style Sheets (CSS), PNG images, etc. Home Page is responsive, intuitive, and good enough for writing and editing articles. 0, a classic app that hasn’t been updated since 1997 – the year I began Low End Mac.

partition tool for mac os x

In my case, I’m still hooked on the positively ancient Claris Home. With both installed, it’s relatively easy to switch as you need to. Every time Mac OS X gets a major revision, some old things break or are lost (Classic Mode, for instance), and some new apps require the newer OS version.

Partition tool for mac os x plus#

(When I did IT work for a local publisher, every Mac had a small “emergency” partition with the Mac OS and some utility programs, and sometimes it was a life saver.)īack in the Mac Plus era, System 6 was definitely faster and snappier than System 7, but some apps – like the then-new ClarisWorks – required System 7. Booting from a hard drive is a whole lot faster than booting from a CD or DVD installer or emergency disc. Even if you never use two different versions of the Mac OS, it’s helpful to have a clean copy of the OS on a second partition for troubleshooting. There are other reasons to partition your hard drive. It’s a great way to try different versions of OS X with my 400 MHz iMac, 1.25 GHz eMac, or dual 450 MHz Power Mac G4. In fact, I also have a external 80 GB drive with Mac OS X 10.2, 10.3, and 10.4 installed on separate partitions – and room for 10.5 as well. I like having the ability to choose between two or more versions of the Mac OS without needing a second hard drive. One thing that hasn’t changed over the years is partitioning hard drives. Still, for what I do, the 2002 Power Mac is generally a great performer. And I’m still something of a low-end power user, with most of the Mac world zipping past me and using Intel-based Macs with two or more CPU cores and 1.6 GHz or higher CPU speeds. I bought mine secondhand in 2005, and I’m still using it as 2008 draws to a close. By today’s standards, 400 GB is a decent sized drive, and 2 GB of RAM is more than adequate for most people with PowerPC Macs. Now I can boot into Mac OS 9.2.2, OS X 10.4.11 Tiger, and OS X 10.5.5 Leopard. This morning I finished repartitioning the 400 GB hard drive in my dual 1 GHz MDD Power Mac G4. I got mine in 1990 and used it into mid 1993.) With that fast external hard drive, a 16 MHz processor upgrade, and 4 MB of RAM, I was something of a low-end power user in the early 90s. Back then, it allowed me to boot into System 6 or System 7 from my 40 MB Microtech hard drive. It’s not the way most Mac users work, but I’ve been partitioning my hard drives since my Mac Plus days.













Partition tool for mac os x